Points Received Before A Driver's License Is Suspended

In Arizona, most traffic violations and crimes will effect one's driver's license. While some driving crimes (such as a DUI) carry an automatic suspension, other violations will cause MVD to assess the license with points and may lead to a suspension. Here is a brief overview of how Arizona's point system works:

  • 8 - 12 points within 12 months = 3 month suspension
  • 13 - 17 points within 12 months = 3 month suspension
  • 18 - 23 points within 12 months = 6 month suspension
  • 24+ points within 36 months = 1 year suspension.

A driver who accumulates 8 to 12 points may avoid suspension by attending Traffic Survival School. However, if within the previous 24 months the driver already attended Traffic Survival School, this is not an option and driving privileges will be suspended for 3 months.


HOW DOES THE POINT SYSTEM WORK IN CONJUNCTION WITH A DUI?

A DUI conviction causes both a license suspension and the assessment of points. A first offense, misdemeanor DUI will result in a 90 day suspension (with the possibility of a to-and-from work permit after 30 days) and will assess 8 points to the license. But, because a DUI charge is usually accompanied with another traffic violation (for example, running a red light, failing to yield, etc.), a conviction for DUI and the related violation could result in assessment of more than 8 points. Because, under such a scenario, the license would be that much closer to a future suspension, it is important that the driver (or the driver's attorney) negotiate for the dismissal of the related violations.

Other types of DUIs (such as second time, aggravated, and felony) carry different suspensions. Because there are many factors and other scenarios when it comes to figuring out the complicated area of the MVD point system and how it affects one's individual license, the above summary may not apply in all cases.

If you have questions regarding driver's license issues or DUI law, please contact us.