Arizona is one of a few states that has created something referred to as “Super Extreme DUI.” A DUI is “Super Extreme” if a person’s blood alcohol concentration is .200 or above. While this crime is still a misdemeanor, it carries a minimum jail term that is greater than most first time felonies. There are several characteristics of this crime that make it unique. Here are the five most important: 1. An extended period of an Ignition Interlock Device. All
The short answer is not much. At best, they may correlate to someone having a blood alcohol concentration over a .08. At worst, they prove nothing at all. To understand their meaning you must look at how they came into existence and who developed them. In the late 1970’s, NHTSA (the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration) paid for some research to see if tools could be developed for law enforcement to identify people who are potentially DUI / DWI.
Updated September 5, 2020 Arizona’s Extreme DUI Law The are several types of DUI offenses in Arizona. An extreme DUI is based on the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of the person accused of DUI. Specifically, if the person has a BAC above a .150 they will be charged with extreme DUI under § 28-1382 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. Prior Consequences | Extreme DUI Conviction The primary penalties for being convicted of an Extreme DUI charge include: Incarceration (a term of
All DUI convictions in Arizona require an ignition interlock device. Practically speaking, this means that a person will be forced to “blow” into the device to show there is no alcohol in his or her system every time he or she starts a car, and approximately every 15 to 30 minutes while the vehicle is operating. There are also several Arizona statutes relating to the interlock device once it has been installed in a vehicle. Failure to comply with these laws can result in either: (1) an extended interlock period; and/or (2) a driver’s license suspension. Below is a summary of
In almost all Arizona DUI cases a police officer will make an arrest without an arrest warrant. Police are permitted to make such warrantless arrests if they possess probable cause. Probable Cause in DUI Cases To make a lawful DUI arrest in Arizona police officers must have “probable cause” to believe the person was driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI). Arizona has codified this probable cause requirement in Arizona Revised Statute §13-3883. Arizona courts have defined probable cause as “such a
Updated August 30, 2020 In 2007 the Arizona legislature changed the penalties for first time Arizona DUI convictions. Since that time there are have even more material changes. Let’s take a look at them Back in 2007 On September 19, 2007, Arizona changed the penalties for a first time DUI conviction. Under the change, the penalties vary based on the blood alcohol level of the person. Here are some of the changes the legislature has made for a person convicted of
Updated 09.05.20 In Arizona, most traffic violations and crimes will effect one’s driver’s license. While some driving crimes (such as a DUI) carry an automatic suspension, other violations will cause MVD to assess the license with points and may lead to a suspension. Arizona’s MVD Point System Here is a brief overview of how Arizona’s point system works: 8 – 12 points within 12 months = 3 month suspension 13 – 17 points within 12 months = 3 month suspension